Weather Alert

Walnut Creek: Take Flight – Presented by California Symphony featuring Jennifer Cho, violin

Vaughan Williams—The Lark Ascending
Haydn—Symphony No. 83 (The Hen)
Sibelius—Swan of Tuonela
Dvořák—Symphony No. 8

Running Time: approx. 1 hour 55 minutes, with one intermission

Proof of full vaccination against COVID-19 is required for all guests age 12 and over, and face coverings are required to be worn by all guests age two and over when visiting the Lesher Center for the Arts and Bedford Gallery.


  • Concertmaster Jennifer Cho plays Vaughan Williams’ gorgeous masterpiece for solo violin on a program that soars with the birds.
  • Sibelius’ ethereal tone poem is based on a Finnish folk tale about a mystical swan that guards the island of the dead.
  • Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8 was inspired by the folk music of Bohemia and nature sounds including bird calls. It’s the most melodic and uplifting of his large-scale works.

More information here.

January 29 - January 30
Lesher Center for the Arts
1601 Civic Dr,
Walnut Creek, CA 94596 United States

Other Events

Connect With Us Listen To Us On